Congratulations to this year’s CPR academic award winners. CPR’s press release is available here.

Outstanding Professional Articles

Winner: Hal Abramson, Nelson Mandela as Negotiator: What Can We Learn from Him? 31 Ohio St. J. on Dispute Resolution 1 (2016).Article Link via HeinOnline.
Honorable Mention: Douglas N. Frankel & James H. Stark, Improving Lawyer’s Judgment: Is Mediation Training De Biasing? 21 Harvard Neg. L.R. 1 (2015)
Short Article: Ben Giaretta, Project Management in International Arbitration, 3 McGill J. of Dispute Resolution 66 (2016-17)

Joseph T. McLaughlin Original Student Article Award

Winner: Theresa Mullineaux, “The Latest NFL Fumble: Using its Commissioner as the Sole Arbitrator: State ex rel. Hewitt v. Kerr,” 461 S.W.3d 798 (Mo. 2015)

Y-ADR Annual Writing Award

Winner: Jared Hubbard, “Charting a Course for Success: The Importance of An Initial Case Plan.”

Sarah Cole is a professor as well as the director of the Program on Dispute Resolution at Ohio State University Moritz College of Law. She has focused her research on the legal issues and policy that have arisen as a result of the increased use of alternative dispute resolution (ADR). She frequently publishes articles on dispute resolution topics and is a contributor to ADR Prof Blog.